Coachella pt.2

Empire of the sunThis last weekend I was able to experience Coachella for the first time. And let me tell you….what an experience. I travelled up with my sister on Friday after work, hey someone has to work! We made it to the Westin Rancho Mirage and unpacked. We next headed to Las Casuelas Nuevas, my favorite and some of the best mexican food around! We headed back to the hotel, only dreaming about how the concert was going (2 of my favorite bands were playing: Kings of Leon and The Black Keys). As Saturday morning arrived, we couldn’t wait to get going. My sister and her friends were ready to go and that afternoon we made our way to the Polo Fields.

White skirt, blue topIt was hot….really hot! I didn’t have time to go buy a new outfit for the concert so I had to make do with what I had. The first day I wore a long sundress, straw hat and bathing suite underneath. The second day I wore a white linen skirt and see through blue top with a hat and Ray Ban Aviators.  All the good bands did not come on till later in the day so we enjoyed ourselves in the beer gardens just listening to the new up and coming bands. Bright eyes, Mumford and Sons, Sissor Sisters, Empire of the Sun, Arcade Fire and a couple other bands were what I was looking forward to. During the day you have a lot of “normal” people running around, but at night the saying “the freaks come out a night” is actually true. I had never seen so many weird and crazy people. I don’t know if it was the drugs that they were on, or if they all crawled out from rocks, but man if I ever have kids they will not be able to go until they are 18.  Supposedly there were a lot of celebrities running around, but I never saw them. With 80,000 people each day you get kind of overwhelmed.

Hot Shorts and shirtThe outfits were absolutely amazing. You would see people wearing a simple jean shorts and cotton tops, to simply bathing suites, to no tops and hot pants. The amount of people who were walking around in heels amazed me, my feet were killing me and I wore Rainbow sandals all day. Lots of feathers and glitter was found all over the grounds, it looked like we had just time travelled back to the 60s. Coachella is a modern-day Woodstock, minus the DJ Tents. The breeze kicked in later in the afternoon, but with temperatures reaching close to the high 90s, you get drained pretty fast. Next year my outfit will be well prepared.

On Sunday we were only able to stay till about 7 as I had work the next day and my sister needed to get back to school. Wiz Khalifa, Damian Marley, Nas were some of the bands we got to enjoy. But, some of our favorites were not on till later 😦 . We made it home in time to watch the Strokes, Ratatat, and Kanye West on the live video stream on YouTube. It was a great experience, I got to run into some friends from college that I had not seen in awhil,e as well enjoyed a weekend away with my sister. Cheers to next year.

 XOXO Coco

About cocovalenz

Why work when you can CoCoValenz.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment