Trade-Offs

These last few months have got me really thinking about the different things we give up in exchange for something seemingly better. You give up the gym to have more time to watch the NBA playoffs, you trade your car for a G6, you take a job in the city for less pay. At what expense? In these examples – a gut, limited parking options, dollar value menu anyone? Can you really have your cake and eat it too?

These thoughts were punctuated with this past weekend. I went to Temecula for a quick weekend of wine tasting, gambling, and heavy drinking. J-Town is a mutual friend who was in town for 3 weeks, and this weekend was his last.  [I met him in August of last year, the night before he left for Japan on company assignment.] In the 3 weeks he was here, he quickly realized the personal trade-offs of having to work overseas. Though professionally he had a fastpass to career development, he found himself looking for the craziness and camaraderie of friends back home. So we made sure to do it big this past weekend. Pechanga/Temecula with the right people can be amazing – between tripling our money at the blackjack tables, eating surprisingly decent food, taking shots of chilled goose and a videocamera to document it all, I could almost say that this weekend alone made up for the 9 months he spent overseas. I have a feeling he will be back soon. And I hope so.

So what are my trade-offs? Everyday there is something new, but in the grand scale of things, I believe that I am eating every last bite of that lemon cream cake.

love, Valenz

About cocovalenz

Why work when you can CoCoValenz.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment