To we or not to we. That is the question.

It’s me again. Apologies for the slight hiatus, the past few days have been quite hectic around the CoCoValenz scene. But with every dark period, comes a series of supershiny events and I cant wait to tell you all about it. Can’t wait!

This past weekend was a blast. My older bro and his fiance came down from San Francisco to check out different venues for their upcoming nuptials. After months of research, they were able to narrow down their choices and finally booked a gorgeous church at a Mission in South Orange County. The reception space they chose was equally beautiful. Though they live in Northern California, they chose Orange County because that’s where most of the family lives (not to mention the amazing weather). We went hard all weekend, and in the process I emerged with a clearer picture of my past, my present, and my future.

So Friday they’re booking the venues. I meet up with them after work and share in their excitement. We look at pictures, research different centerpiece ideas, and start debating the guestlist. Wow, this wedding stuff is crazy. I mean, while you try to plan this huge extravaganza, in the back of your mind you know that you will be attached to this person for life. FOR LIFE! Its such a huge commitment, that you almost need to hold your breath and dive right in. I am at the point in my life where everyone around me is doing this marriage thing. I cant help but look inward, but when i do, I still see the ravenous single female not ready to pull the plug. I know it’s a very negative and helpless view of marriage, but you cant blame me if you were to step into my stilettos for just one fun-filled, supersexy weekend. Trust me, it’s dangerously infectious. I have the dating fever, and I need a doctor. A surgeon with a house in the hills, preferably.

The following evening we head out to DTLA for drinks. It’s our friends bday and we celebrate at the Association Bar. We share mutual friends and sure enough, I see this dude from a past life. I really need a free pass for this past. Who wears a pocket napkin to a dive bar? Only socially retarded chubbies with delusions of grandeur. And that was his delusion when he thought he could wife me up. Talk about perfect timing, I dated him when I was desperately rebounding from a long-term relationship. It was my fault. My mistake that I couldnt see until 2 months of babysitting this one. Everyone has that moment in their life, their WTF moment.

That same evening, I get a message from BP. He wants to hang and so do I. This one is more my style – smart, successful, extremely driven. He keeps me on my toes, in more ways than 1 (he, about 6’2″; me, barely 5’1″). This is my present and it’s exactly where it needs to be – On my terms, and all in the spirit of fun.

I’ve embraced my past and my present. But what about my future? I’ve taken the learnings from my past, now taking full advantage of my present with hopes to get closer to my future. What will this future hold? A ring? A man in every city? A solitary retreat in India? Still trying to figure that out, but once I do, you’ll be the first to know.

Salud!, Valenz

About cocovalenz

Why work when you can CoCoValenz.
This entry was posted in love, random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment