Selection

Girl Sitting in Ocean

As you may have figured out by now I have been single for a very long time. So once again I am going to discuss the topic of dating, I think I am getting a little stir crazy. As I am starting to look for a relationship should I just copy Valenz’s life at the moment ;0  Astig!

Recently, two close friends have shown an interest in me. One is a little older, constantly asking me out on dates and I keep making up excuses to go out with him. I would love to hang out and go out for drinks, but I know what his intentions are. In my eyes he is nothing that I could see myself with. Another close friend is my age. He has been asking me to come and hang out with him, meet him for drinks, etc. Well, like the other one I cannot see myself with him at all. But, we run in the same circles so we are always running into each other. 

Obviously, I am single. I do not have a boyfriend, or am casually dating anyone. So, my question to you is “am I being too picky?” Am I being so selective that I cannot even get a date? Maybe these guys would be good for someone else, but i see myself dating guys that have a Career, on their way to success (not in a gold digger way), at lease 5 years in my age range, and good-looking. Is this too much to ask? Am I pushing guys away that could potentially be this in a couple of years? I like instant satisfaction, I don’t want to have to waste my time with some guy who is still working as a bartender.

What is a girl to do? All of my friends that are my age are simply going out on the town hook up with some guy…press repeat. That was college, now as I am on the fast track in a career and getting my MBA, I don’t have the desire to pull those stunts or need the attachment and heartbreak. As my mother used to say “you need to have standards for dating.” Are my standards and expectations too high? Am I going to stay single for the rest of my 20s? Is it fair for me to lower my standards just so I can hook up and get a free meal from time to time? I think my last relationship damaged me so much that I will relearn how to play the game.

For now, I will drown my sorrows in Foster the People: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SDTZ7iX4vTQ 

XOXO Coco

About cocovalenz

Why work when you can CoCoValenz.
This entry was posted in love and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment